• Alfred-Wegener Institute, Germany
  • Australian Antarctic Division, Australia
  • Australian Bureau of Meteorology
  • British Antarctic Survey, UK
  • Finnish Institute for Marine Research, Finland
  • GI, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
  • IARC, University of Alaska Fairbanks, USA
  • Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, Universität Karlsruhe, Germany
  • National Ice Center, USA
  • National Snow and Ice Data Center, USA
  • Met. Service NZ LTD, New Zealand
  • Norwegian Polar Institute, Norway
  • NSF, USA
  • National Institute of Polar Research, Japan
  • JAMSTEC, Japan
  • Programma Nazionale di Ricerche in Antartide, Italy
  • SAMS, UK
  • CLS/Service Argos, France
  • South African Weather Service, South Africa
  • United Kingdom Meteorological Office, UK

How to become a member of IPAB?

Participants in the WCRP international Programme for Antarctic Buoys include national Antarctic programme agencies, meteorological and oceanographic institutes, research and operational agencies and non-governmental organisations interested in Antarctic sea-ice zone studies and contributing actively to the programme. Principal investigators or relevant buoy programmes may also contribute, with agreement from the Executive Committee, as individual participants. Intending participants will indicate their contribution to, and involvement in, the programme by means of an expression of interest or Letter of Intend to be submitted to the IPAB chairman and copies to the Director WCRP. Expressions of interest and Letters of Intend will be considered by the Executive Committee in consultation with the co-ordinator and the accepted participants will be notified. The full role of participants will be reviewed at each biennial meeting.